So what’s up with the blog title, Lady?

I’m sure there’s at least one person out there who would look at my blog and ask exactly that.

So I’ll start off by answering the unasked question (hey – I have to start somewhere, right?).

Silent Screams in the Dark – well, for one, it’s my personal take on a very common analogy used by people suffering from depression (i.e. depressives).  Many will talk about a black hole or a downward spiral or a dark tunnel – all kinds of different forms of darkness and/or blackness.

But on the other hand, it’s also one of my personal coping skills.  Having been unmedicated for so long (it was 1994 when I was last on regular, monitored medication), I’ve had to come up with some creative ways of coping.  It’s either that or kill myself.

Sometimes, when things get too much and it keeps me from sleeping, I’ll silently get out of bed and go into either the bathroom, kitchen, or living room and stand there, in the dark…. and scream.  Silently.  You know… where the air gusts past your lips but you close your throat so that it comes out almost as soft as a whisper.

There have been many nights when I’ve needed to do it.  Days, too – but during the day, and especially with a family as big as mine, it’s harder to find a room that’s completely deserted.

So that’s what’s up with the blog title.  Says the Lady.

~ by nuckingfutz on September 22, 2007.

One Response to “So what’s up with the blog title, Lady?”

  1. I’d be very interested in finding out about the “creative ways of coping” you’ve used to keep moving forward…

Leave a Reply

 
